Blog Tour | Guest Post | Review: The Rise of the Dawnstar (The Avalonia Chronicles #2) by Farah Oomerbhoy

Book Title: The Rise of the Dawnstar
Series: The Avalonia Chronicles, Book 2
Author Name: Farah Oomerbhoy
Genre: Fantasy
Age: Young Adult
Hardcover ISBN-13: 978-1-63489-934-5
Ebook ISBN: 978-1-63489-933-8
Publisher: Wise Ink Creative Publishing
Release date: April 24, 2017
Source: ebook (given by Netgalley)


Aurora Firedrake returns in the spellbinding sequel to The Last of the Firedrakes.
The seven kingdoms of Avalonia are crumbling and evil is spreading across the land like a plague. Queen Morgana is close to finding a way to open The Book of Abraxas and it’s only a matter of time until she uses the power trapped inside its pages to enslave the entire world.
With Avalonia growing more dangerous by the day, Aurora must travel through war-torn lands and deep into the heart of the fae kingdom of Elfi. Her goal is to find a legendary weapon infused with the last of the realm’s ancient magic—the only weapon in the world powerful enough to stop the queen.
Aurora might have survived her first battle against Morgana, but the true fight to save her kingdom and restore her throne has only just begun…

*The author provided this book in exchange for an honest review.*
The kingdoms of Avalonia are crumbling under Queen Morgana's rule. Her reign is one of fear and darkness. The kingdoms that haven't been conquered yet are starting to get weaker and to want to bow to her.
Aurora Firedrake is the long lost heir to the throne of Illiador and she has recently discovered that she possesses way more power than anyone ever suspected. She is a half-fae and half mage, a powerful combination of very powerful, and royal, bloodlines. The Princess starts a journey in order to stop Queen Morgana, er evil aunt, from opening The Book of Abraxas and using the power trapped inside its pages to enslave and doom the entire world.
In order to defeat the Queen, Aurora must master her powers and uncover truths that were buried long ago. She decides to travel to Elfi, her Grandmother's kingdom, the fae kingdom so that she can learn about her true gifts and just how far she can go.
Along this journey, she faces new and old dangers and she learns important lessons that stay carved in her heart for life. New friendships and enemies are made, but who will win?
I must start this review by stating that this book was definitely worth the wait! Even tough I advise you to re-read the previous instalment before diving into this book it was not hard to pick up the pace and the story just where I left it!
The magical kingdom of Avalonia is back and with it come many novelties! The world has changed due to what has come to happen, actions have consequences and this time they're not good. Things are dying and the environment itself helps you get into the mood this story requires.
We all love powerful heroines but Aurora Firedrake is different! She has flaws and she ends up recognising them, she is played by people with malicious intentions and she loves wholeheartedly. These characteristics only make her more real and more of an example of what a main character should be: not perfect, flawed, real.
Along her new travels, Aurora meets new realities and new people and I have to say that I was amazed by how much diversity there is in the world of Avalonia. There are good and bad people, there are manipulative people and people who love you. In the end, there is a balance.
I will not extend my review much further because I'm afraid I cannot reveal anything else without spoiling the end. What I can tell you is that this book will make your heart leap, it will make you cry, laugh and love and it will stay in your heart even after you have finished reading it.

An Inside Look Into the Kitchens of Brandorian Nobility: The Rise of the Dawnstar Tour (Guest Post)

In book 2 of The Avalonia Chronicles, The Rise of the Dawnstar, we visit the eastern kingdom of Brandor and the Red Citadel in the port city of Sanria, where the Pirate Prince lives.
The food in Brandor is different from that in the western lands, below is a traditional Brandorian menu. Enjoy!

1. Apricots stuffed with clotted cream and drizzled with honey

2. Hand filled feta and spinach pies

3. Creamy almond and garlic soup

4. Flatbreads stuffed with meat

5. Spiced lamb kebabs

6. Lemon and cardamom meatballs

7. Saffron rice with seafood

8. Rich clotted cream encased in a buttermilk cake and infused with orange blossom water.

9. Spiced Fig and honey pies

10. Rose and pistachio mini cakes

11. Rose petal mousse with pistachio crumb

12. Saffron ice cream infused with rose water and topped with pistachios

What is your favourite dish on this list? It is so hard to choose! 

About The Author:
Farah Oomerbhoy is the international bestselling author of The Avalonia Chronicles. Her first book, The Last of the Firedrakes, was originally published on Wattpad where it gained over two million reads and a Watty Award. Since publication, her debut has gone on to win a silver medal in IBPA’s Benjamin Franklin Awards and the Readers’ Favourite Book Awards, along with winning a finalist placement in the USA Best Book Awards. Farah loves the fantastical and magical and often dreams of living in Narnia, Neverland, or the Enchanted Forest. With a master’s degree in English literature from the University of Mumbai, Farah spends her creative time crafting magical worlds for young adults. She lives with her family in Mumbai, India. 

For each stop on tour, there will be a special number at the end of the post. Collect all the numbers, add them up, and enter to win one of three prizes! Once you have all the numbers you can enter the giveaway here:

The giveaway closes on May 21st, 11:59pm Eastern US time.

My number is 29.

Good luck!
Grand Prize

Runner Up

Free Delivery on all Books at the Book Depository

1 comment